[VOGUE] ‘Nine Boy’ Ambitious 19 year old Yook Sungjae

Picture1
Yook Sungjae is the youngest – be it within BTOB, or during ‘Vogue’ photoshoot with Oh JongSe and Kim YoungKwang, he’s always the youngest. Yet, he would greet everyone the earliest. Yook Sungjae who has yet to get his name out, is more famously known as ‘Seo InGuk lookalike’. Sharp jawline and his slight smiles are indeed a similarity with Seo InGuk.

Still, even for viewers who watched all episodes of ‘Reply 1994’, they may not remember Yook Sungjae’s face. Yook Sungjae took part in ‘Reply 1994’,  though  it was at most 3 minutes. He played the role of Go Ara’s brother SsukSsukie. His scenes include walking into the room with a bag  and having a conversation with his girlfriend at a cafe. But such small efforts were worth it. He is now the main cast of ‘Nine Boy’. He plays the role of the active and passionate 19 year old Kang MinGu, one out of four of the ‘nine’ boys. “Writer-nims encouraged me to go all out. So, I wasn’t that bad in ‘Reply 1994’, right? (Laughs)” Although he is still at his stage where each and every word is filled with cautious and humility, he’s a person who does not simply back off when it comes to greed and aspiration.

This part of Yook Sungjae rhymes so much to Kang MinGu. He’s filled with a little over-dramatic and cute sense, but also armed with various sense of humor – that is Yook Sungjae himself. “When I read the scenarios, I would often imagine myself as that character. Of course, I wanted to do well. I’m like myself when there are some ‘crazy’ scenes. I’m a little impatient, and couldn’t stay still… which is similar to my character too.”

Still, there are some differences. Yook Sungjae is an on-the-spot type of person, as compared to Kang MinGu who practices himself to the best before every match. As a BTOB member too, Yook Sungjae performed better on stage rather than during practice sessions. “I’m the type that work better when there’s audience. I might make mistakes during rehearsals, but never during live shows. Even if I did make a mistake, I would pretend I didn’t. (Laughs)”

Picture2

Therefore, he has lesser worries on his first lead role. Rather than being anxious, he practice to hold control over his first ever romance act. “I have a love line with A Pink’s Chorong noona. I’ve met Chorong noona 5 years ago since our trainee times, and because of that, I’m a little worried if I don’t feel the ‘flutter-ness’ when I act with her. When there were serious scenes, I and Chorong noona would most probably burst out laughing.” Of course, this is a step all rookies have to take at first. Manager-nim who was previously a Judo player helped in Sungjae’s physic. After every shoot, the director would look for him and asked if there’s any room for improvement. Although it’s just another idol-turned-actor, Yook Sungjae is extremely serious about it. BTOB, the group he is in, is a fun and lively boy group. They were firstly nominated as #1 with ‘Beep Beep’, a song that is filled with senses. After the shoot, Yook Sungjae would return to his dorm where all members sleep in a room. “We can’t brag. It doesn’t suit us too. (Laughs)” Yook Sungjae is indeed a humorous person. He’s always answering with laughters. To have acting schedules in parallel with his idol life, it must be hard for him. But rather than expressing these tough challenges, his greed stood out more than that.

“I want to be a good singer. I wanted to act very much too. It’s my first acting and I felt that it suits me very well”.  Although he said, “My elder sister loves to doll me up, and because of that, I felt like I’m a celebrity”, in reality, it was his efforts that have brought him to where he is today. Together with ‘Nine Boy’, Yook Sungjae will be standing on stage as a BTOB member with a new song in September. Group activities will always be  group activities. Acting and individual schedules will be another exciting chapter for him. Although he is now spending busy days to raise awareness about his group, the starting phase is always the hardest and the most important phase, especially for Yook Sungjae who just turned 20. He said he wanted to be the position where his role model, JYJ’s Park YooChun, is at. This is indeed something achievable for him.

 —

Please take out with full credits

Trans: loveindacube.wordpress.com

Source: VOGUE

 

Leave a Reply

